Finding the teacher

Shaman working

(Courtesy “Radical Faeries” website)

They say that the teacher finds the student. Certainly, if I had been looking for a Shamanic teacher in this part of the world, I would have been hard pressed to know where to even start looking.

As part of my crystal healing training, I had been involved in several trade shows, assisting my crystal supplier. At one of these shows, appeared a stranger. He was manning a stall with a strange mixture of stone sculptures, hide pouches and crystals.

The day was fairly quiet, and at one point he came across to view our products, enquiring about the availability of a particular crystal. Although fairly common, it was not a well-known stone, and we chatted about different stones and their various applications.

Before returning to man his own stall, he suddenly asked an unexpected question. “How do you finish off your crystal healings?” Not sure what he meant, I answered with a technique which I had been instructed in by spirit. Apparently satisfied, he walked away.

It was not till around two months later, that I saw him again.

“I said a long time ago, that I would never again teach a white man the traditions of our medicine. But my guides have been insistent since we met, that I must teach you. I have fought it all this time, but having tested the guides, and received the requested signs, I have no choice. You must study the Shamanic Way, and I must be your teacher.”

Ohhh-kaayyy….

Over the next 6 months, my journey began.

About Running Elk

My given native name, Running Elk, was bestowed in 2008 as I took my first steps as a fully fledged Medicine Man of the Zuni tradition. A most unlikely candidate for the role, my journey as a healer began some four years prior. The detour onto the shamanic way was most unexpected, yet has been one of the most rewarding challenges to date.
This entry was posted in Introduction to shamanism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

