Rocks talk…

Trees

Connecting Earth and Sky

Being brought up on a remote hill farm has its benefits. One undoubtedly being that, in the event of any weirdness, word doesn’t get out at too young an age…

Having said that, the first weirdness I remember didn’t actually happen at home, but at my granny’s house. My sister and I spent many a weekend there, most of which was taken up exploring the woods next to the house.

At the edge of the wood, there lay a substantial lump of rock: most likely an outlier dumped by a receding glacier. As a 9-year-old, it seemed huge. It was quite a scramble to get to the top which, though not completely flat, allowed me to lie down. Hidden from both road and house, when there was life in the trees, I’d be there for hours contemplating sky, dappled shade and all manner of wonderous noises of nature

One day, completely unexpectedly, in, what I now recognise as, a deep state of meditation, I became aware of a shimmering energy which enveloped the rock. It seemed that all of creation vibrated in tune to this unseen force. The rock spoke…

Now, correct me if I’m wrong, but it really isn’t healthy coming out of a meditation at such a rate… Leaping down, I possibly broke a couple of speed records getting out of there!

Took a while to trust myself to climb back up again. Possibly not the wisest thing to have done, for surely it’s been the undoing of me… Can’t remember all that much of these early discussions, but stones have pretty much been chattering away at me ever since.

About Running Elk

My given native name, Running Elk, was bestowed in 2008 as I took my first steps as a fully fledged Medicine Man of the Zuni tradition. A most unlikely candidate for the role, my journey as a healer began some four years prior. The detour onto the shamanic way was most unexpected, yet has been one of the most rewarding challenges to date.
This entry was posted in Early stirrings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rocks talk…

  1. I think they feel, too. Well, not sure. But physics says they are not really solid. String theory.

    • Running Elk says:

      Interesting. Never gone that far with the process – but makes perfect sense. If you drop a crystal, it an take a while before it will work with you again… Must consider more. Thank you. xx

      • Really, that is interesting. How does the crystal refuse to work with you? Will look forward to more posts from you. Thank YOU. xx

      • Running Elk says:

        It comes out as a difficulty in letting the “energy” run. They kind of lose the “life” that makes them such good healing tools. Now I’m sounding crazy! lol They usually come around after a little Tender Loving Care… 😉
        I’ll put together some thoughts at some point.

      • Does not sound crazy at all. In learning Reiki, learned about the healing energy. Makes sense but I don’t know why. Will forward to your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

