Spirit of Serpentine

Mountain lion

Mountain lion

Traversing the Zuni healing set always begins with the animal fetish from which the aspirant can learn the most. The lessons of the first animal are usually the hardest, or address the area of life which causes the individual greatest difficulty.

Working with mountain lion proffered many personal insights. The most significant of which, was the need to establish and maintain boundaries. This particular lesson came, rather dramatically, at work.

One particularly hectic day it should have been fairly obvious that I was incredibly busy, and really unable to accept any interruptions. As usual, I had become so involved in the mundane, that I had lost all connection with the heavy feeling of mountain lion who, if I had time to think about him, I knew was lying at my left hand side. At one point, becoming aware of some murmuring on my right, I looked round to find half a dozen colleagues, all standing with a sheet of paper, and prepared to swoop at the first opportunity.

Even before the words had formed in my mind, to shoo them away, I suddenly became aware of a vast surge of energy “leaping” across the desk from my left. Every one of my colleagues took a step back, looked confused for a second, and excused themselves before I had a chance to make the request.

It should come as no surprise, then, to discover that one of the qualities of serpentine, from which my mountain lion fetish was carved, is to assist in gaining control in your life. Whether the carver knew this, I am still uncertain; yet the synchronicity of the two seems highly improbable otherwise.

About Running Elk

My given native name, Running Elk, was bestowed in 2008 as I took my first steps as a fully fledged Medicine Man of the Zuni tradition. A most unlikely candidate for the role, my journey as a healer began some four years prior. The detour onto the shamanic way was most unexpected, yet has been one of the most rewarding challenges to date.
This entry was posted in Healing, Introduction to shamanism, Zuni beliefs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spirit of Serpentine

  1. Really enjoyed this alot…I also feel Mountain Lion energy often and use serpentine.

Leave a Reply

