Don’t you just hate it when…

crying boy

Crying Boy (Copyright Bruno Amadio)

… the witchy woman gets it so right?

In the fall of 2011, Gwen, a dear friend and practicing White Witch (and when I say practicing, what I really mean is stunningly amazing), came up to me in a rather public place and, stretching her entire 4’1″ frame to match my 6’2, hugged me and whispered “I can see it in your eyes. It’ll be nearly 3 years before you can accept it”. Giving me a flirtatious kiss, she grabbed my ass before heading on down the street cackling… or at least it sounded like a cackle…

So here we are, nearly 3 years after the death of my father, when my inner child suddenly pops up…

In a waiting room. I am alone, and have my eyes closed. A boy, about 5 years old, reaches up and takes hold of my right hand. He says “You are sad?” I say I am. He says,  “I am, too. Why are you sad?” Somebody died. “My mommy died”, he says. I tell him I am sorry. “She used to hug me and sing me a song”. I slip off the chair and sit on the floor cross legged. “Do you want a hug?” He puts his arms around my neck. A man (his father) appears and is about to say something – I am aware how the situation might be misconstrued. But start to sing a song. The boy starts to cry. “How did you know that is the song my mommy used to sing to me?”, he sobs. I didn’t. But continue to sing the song, as we both hold each other tight.

As closures go, it was fairly painless…

…apart from the bit about how the hell did Gwen KNOW!?!

Save

About Running Elk

My given native name, Running Elk, was bestowed in 2008 as I took my first steps as a fully fledged Medicine Man of the Zuni tradition. A most unlikely candidate for the role, my journey as a healer began some four years prior. The detour onto the shamanic way was most unexpected, yet has been one of the most rewarding challenges to date.
This entry was posted in Healing. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Don’t you just hate it when…

  1. prewitt1970 says:

    Thank you for sharing such a touching tale.
    Truly
    Benjamin

  2. Pingback: Tears before breakfast | Daily Echo

  3. alesiablogs says:

    Hey there! You are a blessing!

  4. I saw a mention of this at another friend’s site and came to read and be moved. Thank you. Paulette

  5. How have you been? Thank you for stopping by my blog and liking posts. Having trouble finding new things to read on yours. Would love to read more.

    • Running Elk says:

      Is that a subtle hint at the tardy blogger in the white suit? 😉 I shall do my best! lol
      Been rather busy these past few weeks (hence the last minute catch up with reading last night 🙂 ) Surely I can find a little something…. :/

  6. Pingback: Moment with the ancestors | Shamanic Paths

Leave a Reply

