Unexpected Visit

Waterfall

Waterfall

One of the places where I often find myself whilst travelling through the worlds, particularly if I have no specific destination in mind or task to achieve, is a grove of trees which conceal a deep pool fed by a large waterfall. It is the place where Salmon introduced himself, and which seems to call me back when there is no particular agenda to be followed.

Last night, I found myself once again entering the familiar gate, passing through the trees to sit by the sun dappled pool. Salmon swam lazily past, but, instead of interacting, headed off to the far end of the pool and disappeared under a rock.

Mystified, I sat, feet in the water, enjoying the sun. Which felt much hotter than usual… almost like the sun was closer than it should be. I looked up, horrified to find an enormous, flaming Eagle swooping into the grove. No wonder Salmon had kept his distance.

Folding his wings, Eagle landed gently beside me; as I realised that I no longer sat on the edge of the pool, but was precariously perched atop the waterfall. Eagle turned, looked me straight in the eye, and morphed into a man; not one that I recognised, but clearly an elder of the Zuni nation.  My jaw probably hit the pool, some fifty feet below… this I had never imagined possible.

He laughed, a deep hearty laugh, no doubt at my dumbfounded expression, then began to speak. His words struck deep, referring directly to a recent healing which had been initiated several weeks ago and had yet to reach its conclusion. So detailed was his knowledge of that healing, including the interim events which had been fed back by the client, that I was left rather disturbed. (Was this simply an “inner dialogue”, or did this stranger, as I believed in that moment, exist elsewhere, and have some vested interest in watching over my feeble workings?)

The latter, it turned out: his tone changed and he began a rather serious instruction on how to complete the healing; outlining dangers, forms of protection required, and the method of severing the spirit chords which would be necessary before closing the circle – none of which I had prior knowledge of.

“Will you remember when the time comes?”

I nodded, dumb.

“Good. Crow will not be able to help. Dismiss him when he shows the direction. He still thinks he can touch the Sun: you must rely on Eagle only. If all else fails, simply leap… ”

At that, he stood, and leapt…

Leap of Faith

Leap of Faith

… swooped low around the pool, circled the grove and flew into the sun from whence he had come.

About Running Elk

My given native name, Running Elk, was bestowed in 2008 as I took my first steps as a fully fledged Medicine Man of the Zuni tradition. A most unlikely candidate for the role, my journey as a healer began some four years prior. The detour onto the shamanic way was most unexpected, yet has been one of the most rewarding challenges to date.
This entry was posted in Healing, Shaman tools and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Unexpected Visit

  1. Wow! Well worth waiting for this post!! Of course, it is perplexing to me and I want to know how you experienced this if you can say. Or am I being to literal?

    • Running Elk says:

      Perplexing to me, this one as well, Ellen. lol

      There are many standard symbolic elements to it which the western mind well recognises:
      Eagle – denial of the illusion of limitation (by which we become grounded) / protection / guardianship
      Waterfall – letting go / renewal
      Pool – peace of mind
      Salmon – knowledge
      Sun – the divine (unto whom the Eagle is messenger within the Zuni tradition)
      etc.

      The thing that’s confusing for me is the reality of the elder, and the manner in which he manifested. Still can’t conclude with any certainty whether he represents my subconsiocious self, imparting knowledge (the Salmon usually does the talking!), or whether he represents another “real” person making contact in the trance state.

      On which note – “how do I experience it”, warrants a further post – even though it is racing WAY ahead. But, for you Ellen – consider it done 🙂 xx

  2. Thanks so much for explaining the common elements to me. Don’t race way ahead on my account. I will read as you write in your own natural progression (though VERY curious and interested)! Thank you, dear Running Elk!

Leave a Reply

