Touching the dragon

492pxpaolo_uccello_049.teach

Paulo Uccello: Saint George and the Dragon (Detail)

This week has been long. I’m tired. Soul deep tired.

Last weekend saw the culmination of the healing activity alluded to in the previous post, and I’ve been paying a heavy price since. So much so, that even now I haven’t found the energy to find the words to discuss the event with the client.

Dragon myths abound throughout the world. I’ve never had any doubt that such commonality of myth can only point in one direction: a deep running vein within the collective consciousness, hinting at a truth which can only be expressed through archetype.

Such archetypes tend to find their realisation in one of the various other-worlds that we dip into occasionally, and it is, perhaps, through these brief interactions that the myth develops, taking on various forms and meanings, defined in part by group and social experience at the location where the specific retelling of the legend emerges.

At some level, we are all potential knights, hoping for the opportunity to arise for our moment of victory over the dragon; or we are maidens, hoping that when the dragon appears there will be a knight, not far off, willing to risk all, ride in and save us.

Thus, in the wee small hours of Sunday morning, without a clue as to what was about to unfold, I lazily flew in a generally westerly direction with Crow. The “water demon” had come this way, and had this way returned. Water demon?!? Apparently so.

Luckily, Crow’s ego made sending him off, ostensibly to watch over the sleeping client, rather easy, and I continued to head towards the increasing darkness of the pre-dawn western sky. His assertion that I was looking for a “water demon” just didn’t make any sense. The only clue that I had, was a mental impression of something which looked like a Chrysalis; green with blue flecks against a deeper blue background, persistent, beacon like, through a slow rising mist.

Without warning, it appeared. Not a Chrysalis, but a large island in a great lake which, when approached from the east, took the shape of an inert pupa.

Descending towards the island, I found myself surrounded by four, large, fluffy clouds. Within each appeared the face of a venerable chief; each taking the station appropriate to the colour of his roach. Confusion doubled, when each cloud took the form of the archangel associated with that particular direction in the Western Tradition. In that moment, I forgot how to fly…

Water dragon

Andrei Verner: Black Water dragon

Alighting a rock, all hell broke loose and I fell into an inky darkness. A maelstrom of teeth, scales, tail; dragged into a whirlpool of black. Cold. Copper. Green.

Red.

So much red.

My broken, bleeding body was carried aloft, wrapped in a brilliant blue cloak belonging, I suspect, to Michael who, I further suspect, had much more to do with the successful despatching of the beast than any of my desperate chants, thrusts, and random blasts of energy.

Hopefully the client will, by now, be feeling some benefit, having been freed from the unwelcome attentions of the creature which now lay the bottom of the lake. No rogue, but rather, like that depicted in Uccello’s painting, on a leash and at the command of a lady who had managed to ensnare him. The tears which stung my face on leaving trance, were as much for the dragon than they were for my own, torn, astral self.

It will probably be a while before I can risk travelling the worlds again: spiritually exhausted, bruised and battered, doesn’t make for positive experiences in the lower realms!

For those knights, desperately seeking out a dragon to quell… take my word for it, as an experience, it’s highy over-rated…

About Running Elk

My given native name, Running Elk, was bestowed in 2008 as I took my first steps as a fully fledged Medicine Man of the Zuni tradition. A most unlikely candidate for the role, my journey as a healer began some four years prior. The detour onto the shamanic way was most unexpected, yet has been one of the most rewarding challenges to date.
This entry was posted in Healing, Travels and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Touching the dragon

  1. Wow! This is fascinating… and grippingly told. I had no idea of the kind of work you do but it takes you to some exotic, if dangerous, places. I do hope you will be okay and that you don’t have to do this kind of healing again. I could offer you a distant Reiki healing Sunday afternoon EST or some other time if you wish. Don’t know how Reiki mixes with your beliefs. Surprisingly many people don’t want it when I offer. It is one way for me to give back. But getting back to your experience, it is really interesting and I am so glad you share it with your readers. Feel stronger. xx ellen

    • Running Elk says:

      Thank you, Ellen. It was a most unusual one, and certainly not one that I expected – things are usually much calmer than this… 😀
      Reiki always welcome. Fits very well into my personal world view, just haven’t managed to reconcile a fit with the native perspective yet. Although not obviously used in its healing sense, Red____ felt that it’s practice was useful to assist connection with the ancestors and, especially, the animal guides; and that the reason that native cultures had no “use” for it, was simply because their lives were played out instinctivelt in the stream of what we refer to as Reiki energy.
      xx

  2. prewitt1970 says:

    It’s very good of you to consume so much. Rest my friend. Be in the blueness of peace and the balance of green. The freedom of yellow and white.
    Namaste
    Benjamin

  3. ggPuppetLady says:

    Haha yes I was just reading about Sue’s milky trek!
    I’d like to honour your tough journey, and urge you to r e s t : have a bath, have an afternoon snooze, make a nurturing soup, put your feet up. It’s essential to rebuild one’s energy while acknowledging the challenges we’ve faced, and I’m just about to post about that now 🙂
    Clearly we are indeed all ‘tuned in’ 🙂
    Take care, with best wishes from Down Under, gabrielle

    • Running Elk says:

      Thank you Gabrielle. Off to find some soup! 🙂
      Interesting point you raise about the world becoming more tuned in. Certainly feels that way! Can’t put a date on it, but even those I would have previously considered the most ingrained of “muggles” have surprised me these past few months… lol
      Blessing right back to you! xx

  4. Pingback: Chasing the void | Shamanic Paths

  5. alienorajt says:

    Moving, beautifully written and absolutely fascinating. The dragon imagery was so vivid that I could see it, almost feel it. Yes, it does feel as if the world is more tuned in, as if the vibrations have shifted up several notches or something.
    I LOVE your blog.
    xxx

  6. Pingback: A New Suit of Armour | Shamanic Paths

Leave a Reply

