Unfriending

Having just gone through a bit of a purge on Facebook, I can well relate to the sentiments expressed by Nimue, here. Love the way that she has pointed out the ritualistic aspects, something I hadn’t even considered in the process of cutting away so much. There is, after all, many good reasons we “lost touch” with these people before they tracked us down… Quite liberating – I’d thoroughly recommend it 🙂

Druid Life

Once upon a time if you fell out with someone, there was no simple mechanism for expressing this to your wider community. No symbolic divorcing was available, and either you avoided them in person, or you couldn’t and life went on. The word ‘unfriend’ did not exist, nor did the concept. I am fascinated by the way facebook has changed things for those of us who frequent it – and those other social media sites as well.

There have been seven people in my life who were known to me personally and whom it became, at various times over the last five years or so, necessary to unfriend. We’ll leave aside the spammers and the random internet connections that didn’t work because those would never have existed pre-internet anyway. Seven people I just didn’t want to interact with any more. There were reasons, some more serious than others, but it…

View original post 613 more words

About Running Elk

My given native name, Running Elk, was bestowed in 2008 as I took my first steps as a fully fledged Medicine Man of the Zuni tradition. A most unlikely candidate for the role, my journey as a healer began some four years prior. The detour onto the shamanic way was most unexpected, yet has been one of the most rewarding challenges to date.
This entry was posted in Reblogs, society and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Unfriending

  1. alienorajt says:

    Great post – thanks for sharing it! I absolutely agree with the points made – and, had I not just de-activated my Facebook account, would be in there with the metaphorical scythe, cutting a swathe through the rotten stooks in my friend field! xxx

    • Running Elk says:

      Wow. Why mess about trimming the bush, when you can just chop the bugger down? lol Like your style, but I’ve too many wonderful people, most of whom I’ve never actually met, who are simply too beautiful souls to not have, even in such a vicarious manner, in my life to pull the plug entirely… :/ xx

  2. alienorajt says:

    Only deactivated it while I am off-line on the blogging front! Otherwise, the temptation is overwhelming! I’ll be back on all sites in a few weeks – just having a comma, rather than a full stop! xxx

  3. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    great post to share…I left FB today,
    after un-friending 200+ “friends” who I doubt even noticed, well two of them noticed not quite three months later 🙂
    I came to the conclusion I have a different definition of friendship…it was easier than I thought and as I knew, no one noticed LOLs…
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    • Running Elk says:

      Ah, Mary Rose. How true. It has been 2 weeks now, and not a single person appears to have noticed. It may be symptomatic of social media in general – it’s all about the “me” generation sharing, but not really taking any notice of what others are… :/ Since there is no conversation, the room doesn’t even notice when you suddenly go quiet… 😉

Leave a Reply

