Who heals the healer?

Resignation, 1895 Carl Wilhelm Wilhelmson

Resignation, 1895
Carl Wilhelm Wilhelmson

Three weeks of wandering between sickbed, deathbed, casualty department and GP… back to sickbed… have brought the question to mind more prominently than may, otherwise be expected.

It’s a long term thing. Last flare up was over 10 years ago, and the treatment option of choice, at the time, had me back in the saddle after a few days. Imagine my surprise, then, to discover that the treatment path has changed.

One week in, and I’m sitting in casualty: “Erm, this isn’t working. Can I have what I had the last time?”

“Nope… have a second round of the option that isn’t working. Bound to kick in sometime. Everybody says it is a miracle drug, and they feel brand new after 24hours.”

“That may be… but it’s been 144hours, and I’m just getting worse…”

One week later, and I’m stumbling in to the GP for a “reassessment” when: “Well, it doesn’t look like the treatment is working. I’ll put you onto… *the thing you have wanted to be on since the start*…”

NOT a happy camper!

When you suffer from a long term illness, you get to know it. You get to know how it affects you, how it will present, what conditions will set it off. Every nuance of its toll on your body, mind and soul is writ large in the cellular memory of the illness. You know the path, through the recovery stage, to wellness.

When that path is no longer clear, and you cry out “I’m lost here”, it would be useful if the healer was listening, and accept that what works “miracles” for another isn’t necessarily going to do anything for you… particularly when you are able to identify exactly what is required to get you back on the proper healing path!

When the healer is so fixated on the newness of a treatment option, is convinced by the efficacy of that option through the feedback of others, he becomes a danger to his patients.

Each patient is unique. The healer must never forget this. To forget, is to assume that it is he, the healer, who affects wellness in the patient. He does not. The patient is always the one who generates their own state of well-being; it is merely the healer’s role to unlock that potential within the patient.

Meanwhile, after three weeks of suffering at the hands of a forgetful healer, three days in on what I needed all along and I might just live…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“So, you’re a healer. What happened? How come you got ill?”

“Seriously?”

Of course, it would have helped if I’d remembered that I had actually acquired some bear root for this very purpose. But that is the point. In sickness, we all become the patient, and need a healer to remind us how to become well again.

About Running Elk

My given native name, Running Elk, was bestowed in 2008 as I took my first steps as a fully fledged Medicine Man of the Zuni tradition. A most unlikely candidate for the role, my journey as a healer began some four years prior. The detour onto the shamanic way was most unexpected, yet has been one of the most rewarding challenges to date.
This entry was posted in Healing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Who heals the healer?

  1. starwine says:

    Heal well and quickly xx

  2. alienorajt says:

    Very sorry to hear of your three weeks of suffering and misery, Elk; I had no idea – poor you. The point you make about our intimate knowledge of our own bodies, and the steps needed to heal, is an excellent one – and I agree with you: Far too many healers, who work within The System, becomes both complacent and arrogant – and, as you say, fixated upon each shiny new treatment ‘toy’ dangled in front of them by the money-hungry drug companies.
    Sending love and hugs for a speedy recovery now you have what YOU need, as opposed to what the Medical Salesmen are trying to ‘sell’ you. xxx

  3. Oh, Running Elk, I am so very, very sorry to hear all about this, that you have such a serious illness and ANGRY at the blankety-blank doctors with their God complexes. They should have listened to YOU!! It is all about drug companies and it is appalling. You have my deepest sympathies– I had no idea that you had such a serious illness. And as for the person who asked you how come you, a healer, got ill, my Reiki master and teacher told me to say: “I am not enlightened enough to heal myself.” Really. Big {{{hugs}}} and hope you will be well and not have this experience again. xx ellen

  4. G. M. Vasey says:

    Very sorry to hear of this… and I understand your frustrations too. This happens all too often these days as the Docs almost killed my Mother exactly as you described above….. Hope you are well and thriving now?

  5. I do hope you are feeling better.

  6. Sue Vincent says:

    Bugger… I’m not getting notifications from you again! Hope you are feeling more up to snuff, now, H? xxx

Leave a Reply

