Freaky Friday

"Yellow Angel", AngelBlueArt (on Etsy)

“Yellow” AngelBlueArt (on Etsy)

Friday was the day of the big test. With some trepidation, I miss lunch and bum a lift to the hospital. In-patient radiology department, yellow zone, level 2 reception.

“Take the lift down. Left, all the way to the end, then left. Give the receptionist your name.”

The lift doors open, but then refuse to close. A young nurse comes in and waits for things to happen. Realising that she has been here before, she grabs the edge of the door and pushes, pulls and kicks it. “Sometimes the porters give the doors a shake and it works”. It works.

I’m handed a bar-code. This is my new identity. “Turn right, keep going straight till you get to Waiting 1 & 2. Wait there”. Stress. Do I wait in Waiting 1 or in Waiting 2? I shouldn’t have worried, Waiting 1 & 2 is a single broom closet overfilled with plastic chairs.

I am far too early. Squeezing through the assembled out-in-patients I take a seat at the back. We watch as the in-in-patients, gurney bound, pass to-and-fro before us. Minutes pass in silence. There isn’t a clock in the room. Time stops…

I’m woken from my reverie by my name being called, and am taken into suite 1. “Wait here”. There is a row of 4 seats facing a single seat. There is only an elderly woman sitting at the end of the row. She seems anxious. I join her and wait. I’m feeling quite spacey now, for some reason.

A young woman is shown out of the inner sanctum, and asked to take a seat. The nurse would return in ten minutes. At first, the young woman sits in the single seat facing us. She looks tired. Her heart is heavy. She is over compensating. “Oh, this is a bit exposed”, she laughs, “I’ll sit in the corner”.

She continues talking as she moves across the room. She laughs nervously as she settles next to me. Something isn’t right…

My left wing rises, transparent, shimmering, and stretches around her. She is completely enclosed and protected within its embrace.

I sit bolt upright, shocked, awake and aware again.

The woman remains enclosed within my wing. Slowly, gently, the wing withdraws.

My name is called again. A different nurse. “I’m going to take you to the other suite”, she smiles. Grateful, I rise and follow her into the corridor, glance back at the now relaxed young woman, and head for suite 2.

Not an MRI scanner...

Not an MRI scanner…

Walking in, I’m shocked at the set up. I’ve been expecting a massive metal tube, and all that is in here is a doughnut in the middle of the room. Then I realise that it was an MRI when I had the brain hemorrhage. This was CT. The CT scanner seemed much less intimidating.

I’m settled onto the table, ready to enter the portal, feet first. The most uncomfortable pillow on the planet, all hard formed plastic and no give, is placed under my head. It is too high at the neck. “Can you reach round and grasp your hands behind your head?”

There then follows basic instruction. How to hold my breath (make sure you fill your lungs to the same volume each time…?!?), how the table will move (think jack-hammer on speed), and where the nursing staff will be (well out of the way, behind lead lined walls… )

The table judders. Red lasers play across my torso. A disembodied voice, apparently from the depths of the machine, “Can we have a few practices? Deep breath… and hold.” How much air do I have in there? “And breathe gently”. This is possibly the most uncomfortable position possible…

The machine begins to power up. Mechanical whirring, electrical hum. I close my eyes. The table moves. “Deep breath… and… ”

WHAT THE…?!?

Fire touches my head, and shoots down both arms. The heat is incredible. My eyes shoot open. The machine blinks. Lasers slash across my chest. The table judders.

“Breathe gently.” Residual heat fades as the table resets. “Deep breath…”

Intense, unbearable, fire.

Slowly, they unfold. Stretch. Feathers shake out. My wings fill the room. The fire burns.

The table resets. “Deep breath…”

The room is too small. Cramped wings enfold the machine. Substance and form begin to disturb their transparency.

The table resets. “Deep breath…”

“Oh, shit…” Night-blue, depth of black, shimmers… “Hopefully this won’t be showing up on the results…”

Ten minutes later, shell shocked, wings withdrawn, I’m getting off the table. “The results will be sent to the doctor who requested the scan. They should be with them in the next 7-10 days”. I smile weakly, unable to make eye contact, as I head back towards the lifts.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I have little understanding of why this had to be shared, nor what it actually all means. The logical side of the brain wonders if the location of these events is in some way important – X rays, electrical and magnetic fields all in close proximity. Can they affect such a change in perception of the local energy field around us? After all, it was only whilst the machine was running that everything “unfolded”. The instinctive side of the brain suspects that the next post may explain more than science can…

About Running Elk

My given native name, Running Elk, was bestowed in 2008 as I took my first steps as a fully fledged Medicine Man of the Zuni tradition. A most unlikely candidate for the role, my journey as a healer began some four years prior. The detour onto the shamanic way was most unexpected, yet has been one of the most rewarding challenges to date.
This entry was posted in Random, Travels and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Freaky Friday

  1. Sue Vincent says:

    The logical side of my brain doesn’t have a clue what to say. The other side dove straight back to a time of producing a sequence of paintings, most of which went north. One didn’t. Maybe it should have. xxx

  2. Morgana West says:

    I’m wondering about molecular rearranging as per MRI scans – do CT’s do the same perhaps?

  3. alienorajt says:

    Reading this brought tears. It also brought the image of the Dark Wings picture Sue painted and gave me at the first Silent Eye weekend, so I wasn’t entirely surprised to read her comment! What also came to my mind, or spirit – not sure which – was Michael, Archangel of the Southern fiery Quarter and archangel of healing and protection. It felt to me as if you were both ensouling him/allowing him space to protect the woman – and allowing something of his benison and power to fall upon you. Hugs anyway. xxx

    • Running Elk says:

      *Jaw drops*
      I’d forgotten about that wonderful image, and you are the second person relating this post to SE13. I do work closely with Mikey, but he’s always been a second party to the party before. Lots to consider there. Thanks Ali. xx

  4. Be positive and content no matter what, friend! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Running Elk says:

      Thank you Tom. ๐Ÿ™‚

      And for anyone who hasn’t met Tom yet – get across there. His pictures and words make for positive contentment… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Oh, Running Elk, I am so sorry you had to experience this. My heart โค goes out to you. I have been in those dreadful machines but not for something serious. Sending prayers and Reiki your way. {{{{{{BIG HUG}}}}} Hope you will get a good report! May the angels take you under their wings!! xxoo ellen

    • Running Elk says:

      Thank you, Ellen. I’m actually feeling pretty positive about the whole thing. Even the GP thinks the tests are a waste of time, but apparently, once a radiologist sees a spec of dust on an X-ray, a ball starts rolling and we all gotta go with it! ๐Ÿ˜€
      {{{{{Big HUG}}}}} straight back at you! xx

  6. Pingback: Flashback | Shamanic Paths

  7. Hi, Running Elk, thank you for reading my post. How are you doing? Namaste, Ellen

    • Running Elk says:

      Doing well, Ellen. Still awaiting results! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
      Loved your update in the post, and your description of the retreat. Have still to find the words to respond properly there, but just wanted to lay down a marker… ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Sounds like that time was well spent!
      How are you keeping now that you are back (to “old clothes and porridge”, as they say in these parts… lol) ?

      • Hanging tough! Have not stabilized on the medication and retreat brought up long buried pain. It was worth it though. Maybe NOW traumas have been met head on!

        Let me know about test results if you want. Still on my Reiki Friday AM 9 ish AM list and, of course, daily prayers.

        *โ™ก* Ellen

      • Running Elk says:

        Thank you Ellen. Been a long haul for you, dear one. Hanging tough is sometimes all we can do…
        I’m going on the basis that “no news is good news”. Either that or they have lost the lot… lol Will let the world know when I do.
        {{{Big hugs}}} xxx

  8. Pingback: The Feathered Seer – Part 1 (or “whatever happened to The River of the Sun?”) | Shamanic Paths

  9. Pingback: The Feathered Seer โ€“ Part 1 (or โ€œwhatever happened to The River of the Sun?โ€) by Running Elk – The Silent Eye

  10. Pingback: The Feathered Seer โ€“ Part 1 (or โ€œwhatever happened to The River of the Sun?โ€) by Running Elk | Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Leave a Reply

