Social Crisis…

Over the weekend, I was left more than a little flat by social media. Couldn’t quite put my finger on it. Usually there is a pay off in the routine of *reset preferences*,  *scroll down*, *scroll down again*, *scroll down a bit more*…  Usually…

Crazy as it may sound, an audit was in order…

Keeping it simple, I just assigned the first 200 posts to seven categories. In hind sight, six would have been more than enough.

AllCan’t really tell much from that.

Much easier to present it in it’s proper context…

Summary

Of course, some of that white noise is coming from people I REALLY want to stay connected with. Indeed, some of that quirky white noise is why I love you…

Love

Even so… that leaves less than quarter of my time spent on social media an enjoyable, rewarding activity.

Time to reconsider?

About Running Elk

My given native name, Running Elk, was bestowed in 2008 as I took my first steps as a fully fledged Medicine Man of the Zuni tradition. A most unlikely candidate for the role, my journey as a healer began some four years prior. The detour onto the shamanic way was most unexpected, yet has been one of the most rewarding challenges to date.
This entry was posted in Random, rants, society and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Social Crisis…

  1. Sue Vincent says:

    Been like that for a while with some social media sites… x

  2. alienorajt says:

    This made me cry – with sheer relief and fellow feeling. I have come to dread the whole thing. If it were not for my wish to get out there as a writer, I would sever all connections and communicate with those I love only via email and face-to-face and text. Facebook in particular has me stymied. But then I have never really understood it – and, having been abused on it four years ago, took myself off for a year or so. I would say less than a quarter is about right. Pleasure has been replaced by anxiety as far as I am concerned. Thank you for saying what I am absolutely SURE many of us feel. xxx

    • Running Elk says:

      It really is crazy. We just get so drawn in. Like addicts, we just seem to have to keep going to find the “next” hit. Twitter I find particularly bad. Everyone is talking there, but there is really no room for conversation. At least Facebook offers hope for some semblance of interactive communication… but the changes which show friend’s likes to our feed just clutter the place in a manner most disturbing. It’s like watching over everyone’s shoulder… the worst part is when one friend jumps in on the back of one of my likes and starts to abuse the friend who I have just been social with. Would they do that in real life? Hardly… but then, maybe that’s the crux of the problem. The worst (and best) of humanity can find free expression within the media… Onwards and upwards! 😀

  3. alienorajt says:

    Reblogged this on Chronicles of an Orange-Haired Woman! and commented:
    This is brilliant, brave and a must-read piece. It expresses, very clearly and succinctly, all that has been causing me – and, I am sure, many others – deepening unease and decreasing pleasure in the Social Site Scene. Thanks to the incomparable Running Elk for saying it so clearly.

  4. Pingback: Social Crisis… | oshriradhekrishnabole

  5. Reblogged this on Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog and commented:
    So – to avoid being in the RED part – DO NOT send out ‘BUY MY BOOK’ and ‘LIKE ME ON’ FB / G+ / etc – FOR A START… 😀

  6. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    I get it.. there are a couple of things that are beginning to frustrate me and that is a couple of FB contacts who are scheduling mass shares without comments. I muted so they do not appear in my thread but they still appear in my notifications. Today I had to scroll through 52 from the same person to find the comments and responses that others had left. So I am going to be forced to unfriend them as they are cluttering up my life. And, there is a well-meaning author who leaves me messages about her book but is also inserting her book promos into my time-line. I do not mind being tagged to bring it to my attention but not blatant advertising using my contacts.

    • Running Elk says:

      Thanks for the share, Smorgasbord. Oh, my yes… I was SO happy to find that type could be “muted”… My current issue is the blatant disregard for privacy in the way that everyone’s “Likes” find their way to my feed. Worst of all, when one friend leaps in on the back of one of my “Likes” and starts an argument with someone they only know through me liking the post… Unbelievable rudeness abounds… :/

  7. CatLane says:

    I love FB, and while I need a weekend break here and there, and some self discipline from time to time, overall it’s fun, I learn new things and keep connections with friends from all over the world. I live in some isolation and it’s a happy thing for me to wake up, check in over my morning coffee, see what’s up, and enjoy the deeper stuff when it happens.I’ll be very, very sorry to see you go, Running Elk.

  8. Karin says:

    All Social Media, even blogging has become a chore for me. There are several people that I like to be connected with and I support them over all their platforms but sheer numbers mean I can’t ever keep up any meaningful interaction. I’ve begun following a post about managing interactions and it’s helping a bit. Adding in my own personality and real world “stuff” – I’m feeling less inclined to even try to keep up appearances on the SocMed scene.

    • Running Elk says:

      Excellent advice, Karin. For me, I just need to be stricter with myself, and not allow the media to distract me so readily. I’m also being much stricter with the “mute” button, in the hope that the red will reduce, and the blue will increase… 😉

  9. Agree…I think Twitter may be totally useless as most follows and tweets are from robots or bogus accounts. Great post I think all of us agree with!

    • Running Elk says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Patrick. Definitely hear you on the Twitter front. Lot of talking, not a lot of listening, and certainly little room for meaningful discourse. I once made the mistake of clicking through on a new follower to find what the connection might be… Oops! Once bitten, twice shy… lol

      • Absolutely…most are those…Buy Ten Thousand Follower ads I have to keep blocking…I have started checking all of the website links because they sometimes are to other websites or bogus. I must get 5 or 6 buy twitter follower followers every couple of days…takes more time to block all of them than it is worth!!

  10. I’ve been overwhelmed by the whole social media scene. I must be running out of steam. 😦

Leave a Reply

