The Day a City Went Dark, and I Was Given Light

Yeah, I know. It’s seems out of season. But this is such a powerful, honest piece of writing from Samara that I need everybody to enjoy stumbling upon it as much as I did… Grace comes in the most unexpected moments, and our lives can change forever…

A Buick in the Land of Lexus

911

 

Kids – who needed them?

They drained your bank account. Destroyed your dreams. Sucked the life right out of you.

Every time I saw an overzealous mommy delirious over her mewling poop machine, I knew it HAD to be an act.

I was living in New York City – the epicenter of EVERYTHING. I milked that shiz like Bernie Madoff at a Ponzi scheme party.

I hobnobbed with pseudo celebrities. My love life was restricted to musicians or DJs, because life outside the velvet rope was not worth living.

Saturday nights – dress to wicked perfection and head out at midnight.  Nothing fabulous starts in Manhattan before 12.

Sunday mornings, I put on my shoebox-sized sunglasses and walked out of a club into pink hued dawn. Stepped meticulously over crack vials and used condoms and went out for mimosas.

Taking care of ME was a full-time job.  Plants died in my…

View original post 1,292 more words

About Running Elk

My given native name, Running Elk, was bestowed in 2008 as I took my first steps as a fully fledged Medicine Man of the Zuni tradition. A most unlikely candidate for the role, my journey as a healer began some four years prior. The detour onto the shamanic way was most unexpected, yet has been one of the most rewarding challenges to date.
This entry was posted in Reblogs, Self Awareness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

